What is a CISMA?

Michigan's Cooperative Invasive Species Management Areas (CISMAs) are partnerships of local organizations, agencies, and businesses concerned about the problem of invasive species in their region.


There are 22 CISMAs within the state of Michigan.

The Saginaw Bay CISMA (SB-CISMA) region consists of 6 counties; Arenac, Bay, Saginaw, Tuscola, Huron, and Sanilac.


Together we work across boundaries, sharing resources and expertise to effectively manage invasive plants, animals, insects, and tree diseases. 

Invasive species extend and expand across multiple landscapes without regard for private or geopolitical boundaries. For this reason, collaboration and partnerships are essential for effective management. In addition, partnerships grant new and additional resources and increase implementation efficiency.


The SB-CISMA promotes invasive species education and outreach, invasive inventory and prevention, and invasive species management.

If you have invasive species on your property or want to learn more about invasive species, We can offer: 

  • Educational materials

  • Training

  • Species Identification

  • Reporting

  • Treatment assistance

Check out our Invasive Species 101 page for identification tools and more information on invasive species currently invading the Saginaw Bay Region.